Who Am I?

Thorup Strand Beach - Jutland

WHO AM I?

I’m a 32 year old travel writer and photographer based in Copenhagen, Denmark. Born and raised in the US, I re-located to Copenhagen in 2011 to pursue a Master’s Degree and to experience what it is like to live and study abroad for an extended period of time.  I currently work as a Global Marketing Manager in the Advertising Technology industry, but have previous experience in Mergers and Acquisitions and Commercial Real Estate.  I am an avid photographer, videographer, writer, and have been dancing ballroom and latin avidly since 2004.  You can find a more in-depth resume here which includes my peer reviewed research, thesis, and work history. Curious about my Master’s Thesis? View it here.  It should be obvious, but just to be clear – please note that all opinions and content shared on VirtualWayfarer are representative of me and my personal opinions alone.

THE TRAVELER

I’ve had the travel bug since before I could walk. By the age of two we had begun a yearly tradition which stretched well into my College Career. Once a year we would pack up and head across the border and into Mexico for several weeks at a time.

By 5th grade that wanderlust was securely cemented when we rented our house, packed a year’s worth of possessions into four bags and caught a plane to Europe. Once there we spent 11 months traveling by train, car, bus and boat. During that time I was travelschooled and quickly learned to love foreign cultures, history and the world at large.

After our return I spent a conventional year in school before we struck out once again, this time I spent 7th grade on the road. Instead of revisiting Europe we took our 32 foot fifth-wheel trailer and RV’d across the U.S.

I am a passionate traveler with perpetually itchy feet. I’ve currently set foot in 50+ countries across five continents and since College have tried and take at least two trips internationally each year. My preferred travel style is as a budget hostel/backpacker, a travel style which I find to be both enjoyable and extremely social.